Nest  - Rub download free

Nest - Rub download free

MP3 1756 mb. | FLAC 1671 mb.

Singer: Nest
Album title: Rub
Released: 2016
Style: Contemporary Jazz, Free Improvisation
Category: Jazz / Classical
Rating: 4.9 ✦
Other format: MP4 DMF AU MMF ASF MP1 TTA

Download links

Nest - Rub
MP3 version RAR archive

1671 downloads at 31 mb/s

Nest - Rub
FLAC version RAR archive

1793 downloads at 29 mb/s


1 Sizuw 01:48
2 Dagtrip 03:01
3 Nein 01:31
4 Kind of off 02:50
5 Siebenschläfer 03:38
6 Kapotalisme 07:24
7 Have to have my china 02:53
8 Rhizome 01:11
9 Hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia or irony 07:19
10 Kickstopper 01:48
11 Ther tek err jerb 04:21
12 Couvre-feu 04:00


  • Alto Saxophone, Composed By – Filipe Nader
  • Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Composed By – Viktor Perdieus
  • Art Direction, Artwork By – Jelle Gebruers
  • Artwork – Dries Segers
  • Double Bass, Composed By – Laurens Smet, Lennart Heyndels, Nathan Wouters
  • Euphonium, Trumpet, Composed By – Niels Van Heertum
  • Guitar, Banjo, Electronics, Composed By – Ruben Machtelinckx
  • Mastered By – Gert Van Hoof
  • Percussion, Composed By – Jakob Warmenbol
  • Piano [2 Pianos with different tunings], Composed By – Seppe Gebruers
  • Recorded By, Mixed By – Ted Masseurs


Available on cd in felt casing with artwork Kelvin incorporated

NEST was born out of an improvisation session with different members of the Troika collectif. This collectif has tackled free improvisation through different angles with projects like Ifa y Xango, Bambi Pang Pang feat. Andrew Cyrille, Antiduo, Bolhaerd and more recently the work of Ruben Machtelinckx.

For this project, free improvisation is used as a means to make music, not as a genre. The band wants to counter the image that free improvisation and contemporary classical music are difficult and inaccessible. For this reason, they use as many elements from pop music as techniques from contemporary classical music.The group consists of a remarkable set up of three double bass, three wind instruments, 2 pianos, a guitar, elektronics and percussion. NEST works more in a spectral way in which the various sonic strengths of the instruments and their sounds are being used.

In june 2014 Lennart Heyndels, Ruben Machtelinckx and Niels Van Heertum organized a trio concert in Ghent. This event turned into an impromptu improvisation session when Viktor Perdieus, Filipe Nader ( both of whom, along with Van Heertum, constitute the Ifa y Xango horn section), Jakob Warmenbol, Seppe Gebruers and Laurens Smet arrived at the concert with their respective instruments. The set-up on the small stage became quite cosy with this unusual instrumentation of two double basses, guitar, piano, three horns and drums. Some small improvised changes were made (e.g. Warmenbol omitted his bass drum from stage for the band to have enough space) and the crowd was treated to two sets of spontaneous music.

This encounter proved to be satisfying, both musically and euphorically, and lingered in our minds ( I'm breaking narrative here) for the following months. When the opportunity arose to get the whole band together in the studio to record, they added bassist Nathan Wouters to the band, resulting in an unusual three double bass line-up.

While the original session was very spontaneous, it comes as no surprise that the musicians easily found common grounds musically. All of them have a strong connection musically from playing in different bands together and can be linked together in one way or another. Or another.. no, not that one... the other one. The most obvious link between these musicians is their involvement in Troika vwz which is the home for Ifa y Xango; a collective of which Van Heertum, Perdieus, Nader, Gebruers, Smet and Machtelinckx are all part of. Last year saw the release of Ifa y Xango's "Twice Left Handed \ Shavings" which garnered great reviews internationally and was released on Ghent based label, el NEGOCITO Records.

Another musical family in which NEST lays eggs (ba dum psshh) is the Antwerp based Granvat label, home of Book of Air: vvolk. The large ensemble of Book of Air is another meeting point for Machtelinckx, Wouters, Smet, Perdieus and Van Heertum. Also Bolhaerd, the eclectic ensemble of Jakob Warmenbol, includes the same horn section as NEST and is completed with bass player Laurens - typing in the third person- Smet. Two new names to the Troika universe are bass player and composer Lennart Heyndels who is known for his band How Town and his work in groups like Jens Maurits Orchestra (which also includes Van Heertum) and bass player Nathan Wouters. Wouters is best known for his work with the Granvat label and his own solo work.

On this recording Gebruers makes use of two grand pianos tuned a quarter tone apart, a technique he pursues and further explores on his upcoming trio record with Paul Lovens and Hugo Antunes. Keep an eye out for this release, happening soon on el NEGOCITO Records. Keep the other eye out aswell. Thank you for reading.

Laurens for NEST

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5413905301502